Hollywood Pie

ENTRY #12
1109.30

This recipe came from my grandmother. I have no idea where she got it; she was making it as long as I can remember. And it wouldn’t surprise me all that much if she had been making this before I was ever born.

Likewise, I have no idea where the name “Hollywood Pie” came from. I just did a quick search on Google, and the first couple of recipes I found with that name bear no resemblance to my grandmother’s recipe — or to each other, for that matter.

I remember that this pie was probably my cousin Leigh’s favorite dessert when we were growing up. When my grandmother died, I think there was a general consensus that Leigh was going to be the one to get the Hollywood Pie recipe. Somewhere along the line, though, my mom also got a copy.

A couple of months ago, I read an entry here on IReallyLikeFood where the writer shared a favorite pie recipe of her grandfather’s. For whatever reason, the entry and the recipe triggered a few memories, and among other things, it made me want to get this particular recipe and make it. So, I emailed my dad, and I asked him if they had the Hollywood Pie recipe. I knew that even if my parents didn’t have it, they could quickly get it. Leigh is one of their neighbors, and all I would have to do would tell Dad to check with her, because I know she has to have it.

As it turned out, my parents do have the recipe, because a day or two later, I got an email from Dad with the recipe as an attachment. I haven’t made it just yet, but I wanted to share it here.

HOLLYWOOD PIE

Graham Cracker Crust:

Ingredients:

1/3 C. Butter
1 C. Graham Cracker Crumbs
2 T. Sugar

Procedure:

Melt butter; mix with graham cracker crumbs and sugar. Press into pie pan and bake 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

[Or you could do what I will probably do, and use a pre-baked graham cracker crust.]

Filling:

Ingredients:

4 eggs, separated
1 stick butter, melted
1-1/4 C. sugar
1 T. flour
1/3 C. condensed milk
1 tsp. vanilla

Procedure:

1. Beat egg yolks well.

2. Mix with butter, sugar, flour and milk. Cook until thick. Add vanilla.

3. Pour cooled mixture into crust. Bake 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

4. Beat egg whites. Top pie with beaten egg whites and graham cracker crumbs. Bake until brown.

Like I said, I’m going to have to make this soon, and see if I can make it as well as my grandmother did.

-30-

Leave a Reply

