Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

ENTRY #16
1111.25

I love chocolate. That’s probably no big secret, but I thought I should state this for the record before I continue.

Several weeks ago, for my birthday, my parents sent me a package of chocolate chocolate chip cookies. And a little over a week ago, they sent me another package of cookies; this time with a loaf of my mom’s homemade sourdough bread.

Now, these cookies will last a long time. I will eat only one at a time, and days can go between my delving into the cookies. I like to savor them; to make them last as long as possible. And I suspect that when I visit my parents for Christmas, I will more than likely be taking some home with me.

I was feeling a little generous a few days ago, and I shared one with Angel, a friend of mine who is one of the librarians at my local library. Angel loved the cookie, and I told her that I would get the recipe.

So, I emailed Dad, and asked him for the recipe. The following day, it was in my inbox. I printed a copy for Angel, and then I decided that I might as well share it here, too.

Now, I am printing this recipe just as Dad sent it to me. I do not put nuts in my chocolate chip cookies. The way I see it, if you can put nuts in your chocolate chip cookies, it means that you haven’t put enough chocolate chips in it. I might occasionally put something like toffee chips or butterscotch chips in the cookies, but never nuts.

CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Ingredients:

2-1/4 cups All-Purpose Flour
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 tsp. Salt
1 cup Butter, softened (2 sticks)
3/4 cup Sugar
1 cup Light Brown Sugar, packed
1/2 cup Cocoa Powder
2 tsp. Vanilla
2 Eggs
2 cup Chocolate Chips
1 cup Nuts, chopped

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Stir flour with baking soda, cocoa powder and salt; set aside.

3. In large mixing bowl, beat butter, sugar and brown sugar at medium speed until creamy.

4. Add vanilla and eggs, one at a time; mix on low speed until incorporated.

5. Gradually blend dry mixture in creamed mixture.

6. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.

7. Drop by tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes.

YIELD: Approximately 6 dozen cookies

(As I have said, I have not made a batch of these yet, so the yield is only an approximation. I am basing my guess on the yield from other chocolate chip cookie recipes I have used.)

-30-

Leave a Reply

