Blue Garlic Butter

ENTRY #20
1207.03

A couple of years ago, Bill Samuels, Jr. Of Maker’s Mark wrote a history of his family’s most excellent bourbon. A few brief pages were devoted to recipes using Maker’s Mark as one of the ingredients.

One of those recipes was called “Bourbon Butter,” and I decided to give it a try. It turned out to be great both on crackers or on Texas toast. (Mr. Samuels says that the bourbon butter is also good for topping a steak, but I didn’t try it with that particular batch.)

Not too long ago, I was at the library, and I happened to flip through that book again. As I looked at the Bourbon Butter recipe again, I found myself wondering how well this could be adapted into a recipe for garlic butter. Once that thought crossed my mind, it was firmly imbedded there until I finally satisfied my curiosity.

Now, the Bourbon Butter recipe called for one stick of butter, an equal amount of blue cheese, and one tablespoon of bourbon, all thoroughly blended together. (As I recall, I used two or three tablespoons of bourbon, because I thought it needed a stronger bourbon flavor. It still probably could have used more bourbon, though.)

I think the main reason I thought it needed a stronger bourbon flavor is because of the blue cheese. It gave the butter a delightful tang, but it also overpowered the flavor of the bourbon. I thought that using less blue cheese would let the flavor of the garlic be more noticeable.

Here’s the recipe that I eventually tried:

BLUE GARLIC BUTTER

Ingredients:

1 lb. Butter
8 oz. Blue Cheese
6-8 cloves Garlic, minced

Procedure:

1. Cut the butter and blue cheese into chunks and place in a microwave-safe bowl.

2. Place the bowl in the microwave for 30 second intervals to soften. (You probably won’t need to nuke it more than twice.) When soft, blend the butter and blue cheese together.

3. Add the garlic and blend thoroughly.

4. Refrigerate for at least an hour to let the flavors blend together. Use as you would any other garlic butter.

YIELD: Approximately 1 quart

Once I finished mixing everything together, I put it in a 1 quart plastic container, and it more or less filled it.

I used the minced garlic that comes in a jar, and based on what the label said, the amount I used was the equivalent of six to eight cloves of garlic. I also added some garlic powder, because I didn’t think the garlic flavor was strong enough.

And therein lies my main problem. The garlic flavor still wasn’t strong enough. Oh, the butter was good; no doubt about that. It made some great Texas toast, and was wonderful on crackers. But the flavor of the blue cheese was still too strong, still overpowering. I had a hard time tasting the garlic.

I’m going to try this again, and I know that I will be decreasing the amount of blue cheese that I use. The big question is, how much less should I use next time? And should I also increase the amount of garlic I put in the butter?

Thoughts, anyone?

-30-

Leave a Reply

